Shanty Days 2017 Honoree Nominations Sought

The Algoma Area Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for Shanty Days 2017 Honoree

The committee, as well as the community, has enjoyed honoring a special resident/business owner for many years. In addition to the honoree luncheon hosted by Algoma’s mayor, the honoree has a prominent part in Saturday’s parade and is acknowledged in most Shanty Days’ promotional material.

The distinguished list of past Shanty Days Honorees Clif & June Harmann, the late Edgar “Tiny” Nell, Ann & Larry Schmitz, Reiny Krause, George Miller, Ray Fulwiler and “Page” Knipfer, Maynard Zima, the late Lee Rush, and the late Gene & Ione VanPrice, Whitey Ellsworth, Mahlon Dier, Earl Krueger, Jim Rabas, Jan Dart, Merle & Kathy Colburn, Jerry and Bonnie Seiler.  Last year Mary Nelson was selected for her outstanding volunteer record with St. Mary’s Church and the Shanty Days food vendor leadership.

The Shanty Days Committee asks that the following criteria be used when drafting the nomination needed. These criteria are not all-inclusive, but are meant to provide guidelines for the committee.

The honoree committee will look for the following information when selecting a Shanty Days Honoree:

-What significant contribution has this nominee made to Algoma’s development
-How has the nominee demonstrated a strong sense of community pride
-How has the nominee been instrumental in keeping business in Algoma
-Does the nominee have a strong volunteer background
-Has the nominee held an office of leadership
-Has the nominee put time and effort into the community without it being part of their job
-Has the nominee supported Shanty Days in some capacity

Please submit your honoree nomination by May 3rd at Noon. 
Nominate online: 
Or send a signed letter to:
Algoma Area Chamber of Commerce
1226 Lake Street
Algoma, WI 54201

Show Comments

Comments are closed.